Close to my Heart


Close to my Heart is a rich collection of ballads in various world styles. Jazz standards, Latin boleros, French chansons and an original tune by Rachel Beausoleil, are all specially arranged by Canadian jazz hero Roddy Ellias. Ellias supplies the beautiful guitar accompaniment, along with Fraser Hollins on the bass, and Matt Pencer on drums. Rachel sings in English, French and Spanish.



Track List / Liste de pistes:

  1. Contigo en la distancia (César Portillo de la Luz) 5:50
  2. Les uns contre les autres (Michel Berger/Luc Plamondon) 4:20
  3. Do Not Tell the Truth (Rachel Beausoleil) 3:18
  4. Nature Boy (Eden Ahbez) 6:18
  5. Les moulins de mon cœur (Michel Legrand/Eddy Marnay) 7:00
  6. Save Your Love For Me (Buddy Johnson) 5:34
  7. Besame mucho (Consuelo Velazquez) 6:45
  8. The Summer Knows (Michel Legrand/Marilyn and Alan Bergman) 3:08
  9. My Funny Valentine (Richard Rodgers/Lorenz Hart) 5:30
  10. Drume negrita (Bola de nieve) 3:17


Credits / Crédits:

Rachel Beausoleil – vocal cords / cordes vocales
Roddy Ellias – guitar / guitare
Fraser Hollins – bass / contrebasse
Matt Pencer – drums / batterie
George Doxas – sound / son
Photography / Photographie – Ian Beausoleil-Morrison
Graphic design / Graphisme – Serge Duguay